Direct detection of elusive thorium-229 isomer Among "Physics World Top Ten Breakthroughs of the Year 2016"

The direct detection of the exotic isomeric state in thorium-229 at the LMU Munich, achieved in collaboration with the Institute of Nuclear Chemistry belongs to the IOP's "Physics World Top Ten Breakthroughs of the Year 2016" as identified according to their fundamental importance of research, significant advance in knowledge, strong connection between theory and experiment, and general interest to all physicists. The work lays a basis for next steps on the way to a potential future "nuclear clock" built upon the ground state transition of this isomeric state. Such a clock's precision might significantly surpass that of the best current timekeepers, the atomic clocks.

 

 

Graphical representation of a nuclear clock based on a transition in the atomic nucleus of thorium-229 (left). For the first time, electrons emitted in the deexcitation of the isomer into the ground state (top right) could be directly detected. The corresponding cut-out from the chart of nuclei, which tabulates all known atomic nuclei, is visible in the background. The thorium-229 ground state is listed with ist half-life of 7932 years, while the now directly detected isomer with >60 s half-life.
Credit: Christoph Düllmann, JGU Mainz

The work, led by PD Dr. Peter Thirolf and Dr. Lars von der Wense from LMU, is published in the May 05 issue of Nature (see also accompanying "News & Views" feature by M. Safronova). Further information is available from the LMU Munich group and the NuClock consortium.

www.superheavies.de

Direkter Nachweis des exotischen Kernisomers in Thorium-229 ist ein "Physics World Top Ten Breakthrough" des Jahres 2016

Der direkte Nachweis des exotischen Kernisomers in Thorium-229 durch eine von der Arbeitsgruppe von PD Dr. Peter Thirolf an der LMU München geleitete Kollaboration unter Beteiligung des Instituts für Kernchemie ist vom britischen "Institute of Physics" als ein "Physics World Top Ten Breakthrough of the Year 2016" ausgewählt worden. Massgeblich für die Wahl waren die grundlegende Bedeutung des Forschungserfolges, signifikanter Wissensfortschritt, starke Verbindung von Theorie und Experiment, sowie allgemeines Interesse für alle Physiker. Der gelungene Nachweis des bei ungewöhnlich niedriger Anregungsenergie liegenden isomeren Zustandes legt eine Basis für nächste Schritte auf dem Weg zu einer möglichen künftigen "Kernuhr", die auf dem Grundzustandsübergang dieses Zustands beruht. Die Präzision einer solchen Uhr könnte diejenige der besten gegenwärtigen Uhren – den Atomuhren – massgeblich übertreffen.

 

 

Graphische Darstellung einer Kernuhr, die auf einem Übergang im Atomkern von Throium-229 beruht (links). Erstmals wurden Elektronen, die in der Abregung des Isomers in den Grundzustand emittiert werden, direkt nachgewiesen (oben rechts). Der Ausschnitt aus der Nuklidkarte, in der alle bekannten Atomkerne tabelliert sind, ist im Hintergrund sichtbar. Der Grundzustand von Thorium-229 ist mit einer Halbwertszeit von 7932 Jahren eingetragen, und das jetzt nachgewiesene Isomer mit >60 Sekunden Halbwertszeit.
©: Christoph Düllmann, JGU Mainz

Die Arbeiten, die von PD Dr. Peter Thirolf und Dr. Lars von der Wense von der LMU München geleitet wurden, sind in der "Nature" Ausgabe vom 5. Mai 2016 publiziert (s. auch den begleitenden "News & Views" Beitrag von M. Safronova).
Weitere Informationen: LMU München Gruppe oder NuClock Konsortium

www.superheavies.de